Sophie Zimmermann

Senior Architect

Sophie Zimmermann is a South African architect with 7 years’ experience in new build and refurbishment projects, predominantly spanning the residential, hospitality and health care sectors.

Prior to joining Allard Architecture in 2022, Sophie saw small and large scale high-end residential buildings through the full building cycle from design to construction. She enjoys collaborating with the project team to achieve an integrated design, thoroughly enjoys site work and still revels in seeing designs come to life. Prior to honing her knowledge and skills within the field of residential architecture, Sophie had the opportunity to be involved in two government hospitals, a community centre, mixed-use developments, wineries and boutique hotels in South Africa, the Seychelles and Germany.

Sophie has a particular interest in sustainable renovations and enjoys the challenge of working within the constraints presented by historic buildings and contexts, transforming and rehabilitating these to meet the needs of today.


2022 Architect, Allard Architecture, Amsterdam, NL
2017-2022 Associate, dhk Architects, Cape Town, SA
2016-2017 Architect, Wolff Architects, Cape Town, SA
2012-2013 Candidate Architect, Gabriel Fagan Architects, Cape Town, SA
2013 Candidate Architect, Blasch Architekten, Regensburg, DE


2015 Master of Architecture Professional, University of Cape Town, SA
2014 Bachelor of Architectural Studies Honours, University of Cape Town, SA
2010-2012 Bachelor of Architectural Studies, University of Cape Town, SA

Current Staff

Previous staff

Alina Rapp - Germany
Andra Hayward - Canada
Andrea Marcenaro - Italy
Anke Plas - Netherlands
Anne Kathrin Pelser - Germany
Annelise Kouns - United States
Antoine Griffon - Netherlands
Barbara Aukes - Netherlands
Ben Jagersma - New Zealand
Bram van Borselen - Netherlands
Brian Hand - Ireland
Carolina Boaventura - Brazil
Casper de Heer - Netherlands
Chiara Toso - Italy
Chris van Heeswijk - Netherlands
Christofoor Brandjes - Netherlands
Damian Verheide - Netherlands
Daniël Bakker - Netherlands
Daniël de Silva - Portugal
David Pepper - United Kingdom
Donna Bjelke van Milligen - Netherlands
Federico Rosson - Italy
Florianne Van Fraeyenhoven - Belgium
Gijs Bouwens - Netherlands
Giulia Moretti - Italy
Gwen van Haren - Netherlands
Gys le Roux - South Africa
Harry Eddolls - United Kingdom
Ikbal Bouaita - Tunisia
Ines Cabrita - Portugal
Isabel Spence - England
Jalmar Taylor - Netherlands
James Jeffery - England
Jan Nauta - Netherlands
Jana Bickert - Germany
Jennifer Gauthier - France
Jeroen Linnebank - Netherlands
Joost van Nuland - Netherlands
Jordi da Cunha Pereira - Netherlands
Judith Ten Kate - Netherlands
Jurriën Boon - Netherlands
Kamilla Trauer - Hungary
Laura Mustonen - Finland
Laura Vorstman - Netherlands
Lena Chappuis - France
Lisa Tijdeman - Netherlands
Loretta So - United Kingdom
Luke Jackson - United Kingdom
Maarten Vermeulen - Netherlands
Mack Phillips - Canada
Malou Speets - Netherlands
Maria Pieltain - Spain
Maurice van der Steen - Netherlands
Menno Berger - Netherlands
Merel Stolker - Netherlands
Merle van Marissing - Netherlands
Mitchell Stewart - Australia
Natalie Di Sisto - Australia
Nathalie Waelbroek - United States
Nicholas Wenham - Australia
Niels Nijkamp - Netherlands
Niels van de Rijdt - Netherlands
Nishand Lochan - Netherlands
Nithin Kadayil - Canada
Paul McManamon - United Kingdom
Paul Walther - Germany
Piet de Reuver -
Quinten Boumann - Netherlands
Rebecca Billi - Italy
Robbe Vandewyngaerde - Belgium
Robbert Bron - Netherlands
Roderik van der Weijden - Netherlands
Rogier van de Brink - Netherlands
Ruben Halbertsma - Netherlands
Ruby van de Munckhof - Netherlands
Sascha Albada Jelgersma - Netherlands
Shame Keesman - Netherlands
Stefan Koster - Netherlands
Susanne Boragk - Germany
Suzanne Brouwer - Netherlands
Sven Hoogerheide - Netherlands
Take Wiegersma - Netherlands
Thomas Etchanchu - France
Thomas Kraak - Netherlands
Thymo Van De Water - Netherlands
Timo Gras - Netherlands
Uri Ben-Ari - Israel
Valerie Smalen - Netherlands
Veerle Scheepmaker - Netherlands
Victor Delamotte - France
William Guinane - Canada
Yassine Abdi - Netherlands
Yvonne Modderman - Netherlands
Zsófia Telek - Hungary