Allard Meine Jansen - BNA

Founder, Principal Architect

Allard established Allard Architecture in 2006, following seven years of enriching experiences at renowned firms both in his native Netherlands and in Italy, such as Renzo Piano Building Workshop, Massimiliano Fuksas, Herman Hertzberger, and de Architekten Cie.

During his tenure at Renzo Piano Building Workshop, he honed his skills in advanced technical design and project management while working on shaping design elements and the coordination of critical architectural elements for the California Academy of Sciences in San Francisco. Allard's unwavering commitment to detail-driven precision ensures that he consistently delivers high-quality outcomes, all while embracing the unique challenges presented by each project. This approach is deeply woven into the ethos of Allard Architecture, with an emphasis on innovative design solutions that address project briefs, costs, and a rigorous exploration of contextual forces. Allard gains inspiration from structural pioneers such as Frei Otto and Buckminster Fuller, and he keenly extracts references from vernacular structures that are regionally native.

In addition to his architectural pursuits, Allard finds inspiration in diverse activities, from sailing on restored antique boats with lateen sails to outdoor adventures like alpinism, skating, and cycling.


Among the projects, he has participated in the design of the Whitney Museum in New York and the renowned California Academy of Sciences in San Francisco with Italian architect Renzo Piano.
2006 Established Allard Architecture, Amsterdam, NL
2005 De Architekten Cie, Amsterdam, NL
2002 Renzo Piano Building Workshop, Genova, ITA
2001 Massimiliano Fuksas, Rome, IT
1999 Herman Hertzberger, Amsterdam, NL
1999 Hubert-Jan Henket, Esch, NL


1998 MSc in Architecture, TU Delft, NL

Current Staff

Previous staff

Alina Rapp - Germany
Andra Hayward - Canada
Andrea Marcenaro - Italy
Anke Plas - Netherlands
Anne Kathrin Pelser - Germany
Annelise Kouns - United States
Antoine Griffon - Netherlands
Barbara Aukes - Netherlands
Ben Jagersma - New Zealand
Bram van Borselen - Netherlands
Brian Hand - Ireland
Carolina Boaventura - Brazil
Casper de Heer - Netherlands
Chiara Toso - Italy
Chris van Heeswijk - Netherlands
Christofoor Brandjes - Netherlands
Damian Verheide - Netherlands
Daniël Bakker - Netherlands
Daniël de Silva - Portugal
David Pepper - United Kingdom
Donna Bjelke van Milligen - Netherlands
Federico Rosson - Italy
Florianne Van Fraeyenhoven - Belgium
Gijs Bouwens - Netherlands
Giulia Moretti - Italy
Gwen van Haren - Netherlands
Gys le Roux - South Africa
Harry Eddolls - United Kingdom
Ikbal Bouaita - Tunisia
Ines Cabrita - Portugal
Isabel Spence - England
Jalmar Taylor - Netherlands
James Jeffery - England
Jan Nauta - Netherlands
Jana Bickert - Germany
Jennifer Gauthier - France
Jeroen Linnebank - Netherlands
Joost van Nuland - Netherlands
Jordi da Cunha Pereira - Netherlands
Judith Ten Kate - Netherlands
Jurriën Boon - Netherlands
Kamilla Trauer - Hungary
Laura Mustonen - Finland
Laura Vorstman - Netherlands
Lena Chappuis - France
Lisa Tijdeman - Netherlands
Loretta So - United Kingdom
Luke Jackson - United Kingdom
Maarten Vermeulen - Netherlands
Mack Phillips - Canada
Malou Speets - Netherlands
Maria Pieltain - Spain
Maurice van der Steen - Netherlands
Menno Berger - Netherlands
Merel Stolker - Netherlands
Merle van Marissing - Netherlands
Mitchell Stewart - Australia
Natalie Di Sisto - Australia
Nathalie Waelbroek - United States
Nicholas Wenham - Australia
Niels Nijkamp - Netherlands
Niels van de Rijdt - Netherlands
Nishand Lochan - Netherlands
Nithin Kadayil - Canada
Paul McManamon - United Kingdom
Paul Walther - Germany
Piet de Reuver -
Quinten Boumann - Netherlands
Rebecca Billi - Italy
Robbe Vandewyngaerde - Belgium
Robbert Bron - Netherlands
Roderik van der Weijden - Netherlands
Rogier van de Brink - Netherlands
Ruben Halbertsma - Netherlands
Ruby van de Munckhof - Netherlands
Sascha Albada Jelgersma - Netherlands
Shame Keesman - Netherlands
Stefan Koster - Netherlands
Susanne Boragk - Germany
Suzanne Brouwer - Netherlands
Sven Hoogerheide - Netherlands
Take Wiegersma - Netherlands
Thomas Etchanchu - France
Thomas Kraak - Netherlands
Thymo Van De Water - Netherlands
Timo Gras - Netherlands
Uri Ben-Ari - Israel
Valerie Smalen - Netherlands
Veerle Scheepmaker - Netherlands
Victor Delamotte - France
William Guinane - Canada
Yassine Abdi - Netherlands
Yvonne Modderman - Netherlands
Zsófia Telek - Hungary